Campervan Island
Campervan Island
5.0
powered by Facebook
Peter Gu
8 months ago

We had a great experience in November 2018 when we rented a Subaru Forester for a 7 day trip along the South coast of Iceland. Runar was very friendly and was very accommodating to make sure that our trip went smoothly. The Forester was practically brand new and handled like a champ on the icy roads.
We noticed many other rental companies were renting out campers that looked much older - met one particular couple that had theirs break down and looked miserable (not worth the risk imo). We are glad we booked with Campervan Island.
Thanks!

Romain Cardis
10 months ago

We just gave the car (Jimny with rooftent) back after 10 days of road and camping in Iceland. The roof tent was very comfy but be prepared for the cold and humidity, this is not Spain! Their service was perfect and they even replaced our car instantly when we had a problem with our tent because of a storm. They were helpful for guiding us and gave good advices for our trip. I recommend their services, they are true professionals.

Dave Matter
11 months ago
Christian Tylko
11 months ago

Just came back from a 14 day, 4,000 KM road trip through Iceland with the Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 camper and we are very happy to have rented from Campervan Island. The vehicle was brand new and was loaded with options, onboard power outlets, heating, fridge and a very comfortable bed as well! Thanks to this camper we went deep into the highlands on F-roads, crossed rivers and probably saw twice as much of Iceland as do most other tourists. Special thank you to Runar and his staff for terrific, friendly and very helpful service. I highly recommend Campervan Island and its great campers!

Brittney Vann Paduchowski
11 months ago

Wonderful Dodge Ram 4x4 with camper. “Edison” was our home for the week. We were well stocked and camper made our week long adventure easy. Even with a small mechanical issue, it was handled efficiently and professionally. Amazing customer service!!

Jensen Starr
11 months ago

I was exceptionally pleased with my interactions with 4x4 campervans! There are so many options for a camper van in Iceland, and you see even more options as you are out on the road - We are so glad we used them and would highly recommend renting from them! They were very understanding with a personal situation that arose and they were really able to work with us. This is a great company! Thanks again 4x4!

Jen McCleary
11 months ago

We had a great 10-day trip around the ring road in the Dodge Ram 1500 4x4 camper! It was the perfect vehicle for the varying road and weather conditions in Iceland, and the camper was very comfortable and had everything we needed. We went with one of the newer trucks, which had lots of USB chargers and Bluetooth, which was nice. (I had brought a small power inverter with me in case we needed to charge phone/laptop/camera battery off the car plug but it wasn't even necessary at all!) The camper plugs into electricity at campsites and has lots of outlets. The heater in the camper worked great, which was appreciated on some of the colder nights! Campervan Island provided responsive and helpful service from beginning to end. Definitely recommend!

Christoph Wesp
12 months ago

We were just on a 18 days trip with a Dodge Ram. Perfect service and a fantastic car. Did get another car to buy food until the car was ready. We also added some extras (camping kit, chairs, table) and it was worth it - good price and we did not have to bring it on our own. We will definitely book the car again, In addition it was a fantastic trip to the highlands and all the rest of the trip.

Ed Zambon
12 months ago

Brilliant company, so helpful! They made sure we had absolutely everything we needed before we set off then loaded us in to a fantastic Dacia duster. Thank you so much Campervan Island!!

Hendrik Thörner
12 months ago

We had a nice Dacia Duster with a matress in the back. Great choice for a trip around the island and in the highlands. Very good service and advice from the Campervan Island team.

Vidit Dedhia
year ago

We hired a Dodge Ram 4x4 around the ring road for 7 days. This was our first camper van experience and Camping Iceland was perfect for it. Runar is really helpful and prompt. The amenities of the camper van were amazing. Though initially, we were apprehensive of the size of the camper van, but it was really spacious and could accommodate four of us (4 adults) easily. Really looking forward to my next adventure in Iceland again with Camping Iceland.

Alexandra Mandler
year ago

We were very surprised to get a brand new Dacia Duster, which turned out to be the perfect car for such a trip. We almost drove 3.000 kilometers and we enjoyed it to the fullest. When we picked up the car, we were told that we would not need the adapter to charge our phones - instead, they suggested us to take some sleeping bags. This was really helpful, as we did not have any idea about the Icelandic weather and climate conditions. We felt very safe to rent our car at Campervan Island and would definitely recommend this company to everyone who is thinking of hitting the road in Iceland! We would give more than five stars if possible :) Thumbs are all up!!

Daniele Natale
year ago

It's the best way to breathe Iceland. So it was for me. And maybe it will be so again. Great experience with you.

Sofie Erhardt
year ago

We rented a brand new Subaru Forester with a matress in the back, so no tent was needed. This was an amazing choice! The sleeping and the driving experience was great, it was warm and cozy during the nights and fun driving trough the highlands. The service of Campervan Island was amazingly efficient and Rúnar the owner was very friendly and obliging. We definitely would book with this car rental again and recommend it to any iceland traveler!

Audrey Zuschlag
year ago

Excellent experience from pre-booking thru drop off. Ásgeir was incredibly responsive to questions along the way. The camping kit was great, and we added the electric cooler and grill, too. The vehicle was great, no issues there either. Not a single complaint. Definitely recommend and would use again without hesitation.

Jón Halldór Baldvinsson
year ago

Great service and really helpful on things to see and do for our vacation.

Leandro Obrie
year ago

it was a pleasure to travel around with the Subaru Forester. What a great ride with a powerful 4x4. Drove offroad and made some food in the fresh air of Iceland with the camping kit included. Enough space in the back to sleep with 2 people. Overall, wonderful company!

Draz Grce
year ago

Rented a vehicle from this company and it was the smoothest transaction. Owner was extremely attentive, accommodating and hospitable. Best service I have experienced. Highly recommend.

Catherine Bennington
year ago

We rented the Suzuki Jimny 4x4 with the roof tent in April for a 10 day trip. Campervan Island was incredibly informative and accommodating; they made the process of renting a vehicle an absolute breeze. The Jimny was extremely comfortable and easy to drive (even when going up against 30km/hr winds!). The 4WD was incredibly useful and it got us to every destination we wanted to reach. We will definitely be recommending Campervan Island to any of our friends who will be traveling to Iceland in the future!

Michalina Okreglicka
year ago

Excellent service I would recommend this place to my friends

Lynette A. Whitfield
year ago

We rented the Dodge Ram with a TravelLite camper for 12 days in September and had an amazing experience. Our vehicle was not ready when we initially arrived so Asgeir gave us the keys to his truck so that we could go buy supplies at a local grocery store while we waited. The truck was incredibly comfortable to ride in, even on the very bumpy road to Selfoss, and was very easy to drive. This truck is 4WD which came in handy a couple times. The camper was very comfortable for 2 people. Asgeir gave us some good advice about the campgrounds in Iceland, and even answered our text messages at 9pm one night when we were having trouble with the lock on the camper. I would highly recommend Campervan Island, not only for the excellent truck and camper, but also for the customer service.

Mary Poppendieck
year ago

We rented a Dodge Ram truck with a Travellite camper in back for 9 days in June, 2016. We traveled with our son, his wife, and their two-year-old. Ásgeir at Campervan Island made sure that we had an extra large truck with plenty of space in the back for two adults and a child car seat. He also provided a large Quechua XXL III 2 Second pop-up tent for our son and his family, since the camper is not big enough for five. This was an awesome set-up. Our son's family moved their suitcases into the large tent vestibule every time we camped, and they had plenty of room to sleep. The tent held up very well in rain and high wind.

The camper was also awesome - we had a refrigerator with a working freezer, a two burner gas stove, and a table that could fit four in bad weather - although all five of us in the camper was cramped (as expected). The combination worked very well, and the 4WD truck allowed us to explore the Westfjords, Kerlingarfjöll, and Landmannalaugar without limitations.

James Farmer
year ago

I just came back from a seven-day driving/camping trip in Iceland. After spending hours upon hours deciding on which car rental place to use, I settled on Campervan Island and couldn't have had a more positive experience. From the get go, Daniel promptly and patiently responded to all my questions and gave me advice.

Daniel picked us up from our hotel on time and took us back to their office where we did the paperwork and he showed us how to put up and take down the pop-up tent. He was friendly, professional, and a stand-up guy. The car, a 2015 Toyota Landcruiser, was clean and almost brand new (and, had leather seats which was nice). I am glad I went for the big 4WD, especially once we got on the F roads and to the river crossings. I have driven similar roads in a RAV4 and it is a completely different experience.

The camping box has pretty much everything you need. They also have a 'pay it forward' wall in the office, so you can leave any half-full gas canisters, etc. for the next

Caro Evers
year ago

in love… with Iceland!!!! Just came back from a 10 day visit on Iceland and had the best time ever! We had THE perfect travel car- a mens dream- DODGE RAM- with a camper top. Just awesome! I loved the car so much (the sound when you start it) and had the best sleep in the camper top.
Iceland is perfect for a camping holiday- cause you can nearly camp everywhere you want. With the camper van we had the best travel buddie- comfy bed, kitchen, enough space and the perfect car and comfort. We travelled with my sister and had the best time.
We even went in the highland (so good!!! Also check out the natural hot pools) and it’s only possible with 4W drive- so we were pretty lucky. It was hard for us.. but the return was pretty easy- Campervan Island has a super nice team- I would book there anytime again.. hopefully soon!!!

Alexa Hoffman
year ago

Rented the Suzuki Jimny 4x4 with the roof tent for a roadtrip around the country in May. It was incredibly comfortable and made our entire trip the greatest experience. Campervan Island gave us all the tools and information needed, and made the entire process so easy. Will definitely be recommending for friends traveling to Iceland.

Eyþór Ingi Eyþórsson
2 years ago

Decided to leave all my camping gear at home and go with Campervan Island.
They set me up with everything I needed, and I also could fit my own luggage case without any problems in my car. Thank you Campervan Island for making my trip unforgettable
James Farmer

Violetta Ásgeirsson
3 years ago
Svenja Altan
4 years ago

yeay camping iceland! wow - what a trip! it's the once in a lifetime thing...you have to make it to iceland at least once in your life. And if you make it, be sure to have the best possible setup! Me and my sister went around the island for 10 days in the most amazing car out there, rented through the super friendly, ressourceful and fun staff at camping iceland. In my humble opinion, there's nothing like the Dodge Ram Pick-up with the camping box on top - what a cool and spacious solution for "glamping"! Not gonna lie...we girls liked the comfort :) And the 4x4 comes in handy if the notorious Icelandic weather changes...nothing to be afraid of! You can do the highlands at any weather, anytime. No other camper could do that! So long story short: best service, best trip recommendations, BEST ride and simply such an amazing adventure! the pictures & memories will last for a lifetime...highly recommended!